Home News Releases Winners Announced for the 2017 Honor Awards for Washington Architecture

Winners Announced for the 2017 Honor Awards for Washington Architecture

American Institute of Architects, Honor Awards for Washington Architecture, University of Washington, Energy in Design Award, Awards of Honor

18 projects recognized for design excellence

SEATTLE, November 14, 2017 — The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Seattle chapter hosted the 67th annual Honor Awards for Washington Architecture to celebrate excellence in design. The distinguished jury included J. Meejin Yoon AIA, FAAR (Cambridge/Boston), Robert Harris FAIA, LEED Fellow (Austin/San Antonio) and Shirley Blumberg CM, OAA, FRAIC, AIA (Toronto). The event was moderated by Dr. Vikramaditya “Vikram” Prakash, Professor of Architecture at the University of Washington. Co-Chairs for the 2017 AIA Seattle Honor Awards were JoAnn Wilcox AIA & Tim Richey AIA.

From 133 submittals, the jury chose 18 award winners from two categories – built and conceptual. This was also the second year of the Energy in Design Award to commend projects that have made quantifiably significant strides in energy reduction while also maintaining the highest qualitative design caliber. Across the spectrum of project types, the jury acknowledged the strong design culture represented by both the breadth and quality of submitted projects, and applauded the winners for their masterful use of materials and high marks on building craft. The Awards of Honor in particular were projects that went above and beyond in terms of overall design while also contributing to a better world.

Award of Honor:

University of Washington West Campus Utility Plant by The Miller Hull Partnership is an extremely well-executed and detailed project, fitting well within its urban edge while elevating the idea of what infrastructure projects can be. The West Campus Utility Plant provides chilled water and emergency power to UW’s Seattle Campus while also conveying the UW’s commitment to sustainability and making the invisible visible.

Magnolia Residence by mw|works is an incredibly tuned and tailored residential project –with immaculate details and wonderful spatial relationships that flowed well. Magnolia Residence maximizes daylight and passive ventilation in a clean open plan integrated into the landscape and community without sacrificing privacy.

Renton Library by The Miller Hull Partnership is a renovation that celebrates and reveals the original 1966 bridge structure with new materials that recall Renton’s legacy of engineering. A new energy efficient exterior envelope opened up floor to ceiling views of the river it spans while thoughtful detailing helps create a wonderful feeling in the space.

University of Idaho Integrated Research and Innovation Center
(IRIC) by NBBJ is a flexible, transparent and open academic hub
that fosters interdisciplinary and cross-department research
projects. The jury felt this project hit the mark with clear big ideas translated to the architectural form, such as circulation detailing and energy coherence with details such as thoughtful shading and daylighting.

Energy in Design Award – Co-Awarded to:

Chatham University Eden Hall Campus by Mithun is an environmentally ambitious project with a goal of being the world’s first net positive university campus. The jury was impressed with the exuberant use of sustainable strategies on all levels that are celebrated and transparent.


University of Alaska Fairbanks, Wood Center Expansion by Perkins+Will is a student center designed to expand social lives into campus life in a sub-arctic region. The Wood Center allows for a variety of scaled experiences from private to more social and is organized around a monumental stair. The jury was especially impressed with the building’s incredible performance in such an extreme climate.

Award of Merit:
• Weyerhaeuser Headquarters at 200 Occidental | Mithun
• 100 Stewart Hotel and Apartments | Olson Kundig
• University of California, Irvine Mesa Court Towers | Mithun
• University of Iowa Voxman Music Building | LMN Architects
• Wanapum Heritage Center | Mithun
• North Transfer Station | Mahlum Architects

Honorable Mention:
• Henry Apartments | PUBLIC47 Architects
• 325 Westlake | Graham Baba Architects
• King Street | JW Architects
• Grasshopper Courtyard Studio | Wittman Estes Architecture + Landscape

• The Right Way | The Miller Hull Partnership, LLP
• Seattle Mass Timber Tower | CallisonRTKL

The program was sponsored by: Krekow Jennings, LP FlameBlock, BetterBricks, Lane Powell, Malsam Tsang Structural Engineering, schuchart/dow, Swenson Say Fagét, USI, Abracadabra Printing, AHBL, ARUP, Berntson Porter & Company PLLC, Clark Construction, Coffman Engineers Inc., Dovetail General Contractors, The Greenbusch Group Inc., Hammer & Hand, Hoffman Construction Company, Howard S. Wright, Magnusson Klemencic Associates, Mortenson Construction, PCL Construction, Peterson Sullivan LLP, QBSI, Schultz Miller, Sellen, Thomas Fragnoli Construction, ThorntonTomasetti, View Dynamic Glass, W.G. Clark Construction Co. and WSP.

In-kind contributors: Finerie Style Studio. Media sponsor: Gray.

About the AIA Seattle Honor Awards on Washington Architecture
This year marks the 67th year of the AIA Seattle Honor Awards for Washington Architecture. This program is a critical dialogue on architecture and solicits entries from around the state. Entries to the awards program remain anonymous throughout the jurying process, and winning projects are first announced at the live Awards presentation.

About the Seattle Chapter of the American Institute of Architects
Founded in 1894, AIA Seattle is a not-for-profit professional association of architects, allied professionals, and laypeople. AIA Seattle provides the architecture community with resources and relationships to make a difference through design.
For more information visit aiaseattle.org/honorawards2017 and Online Gallery